The Nebraska Speech Communication & Theatre Association Awards Committee solicits your nominations for outstanding administrators and teachers of speech at the elementary/secondary and college/university levels.  If you would like to nominate someone for an award, please do so here.

The following awards are given: 


Outstanding Administrator Award

This award is granted to school administrators that have shown a great support of and dedication to the Fine Arts, including speech, debate, and theatre in our schools. It may be given to individuals in administrative positions at the elementary, secondary or college/university levels. 

Past Recipients-Outstanding Administrator 

1993 Dr. Kevin Riley, Gretna 
W. C. McGahan, North Platte St. Pat's 
1994 Dr. Wayne Bell, Gothenburg 
1995 Jeff Burkink, Norfolk 
1996 Bill Gettman, Cozad 
1997 Dr. William Kenagy, Kearney 
1998 Leroy Cundall, Bayard 
1999 Dr. Dick Wollman, Millard South 
2000 Dan Twarling - North Platte High School
2001 Pat Friesen - Lincoln High School
2002 John Fero, Crete
2003 Kirk Begley, Scottsbluff
2004 Steve Joekel, Millard West
2006 David Gordon, Lexington
2007 Ron Lamberty, Seward
2011 Kim Carson, Lincoln Southwest High School
2014 Dennis Dolliver, Norfolk


Gerald S. Oswald Outstanding Service Award

This award is given to persons who have demonstrated truly outstanding dedication to the discipline of speech communication. The award is reserved for those persons retiring, leaving the state, or changing assignments. The award may be presented posthumously. 

Past Recipients-Gerald S. Oswald Outstanding Service Award

1986 Hugh Beall 
1989 Phil Kaye, Nebraska Wesleyan 
1990 Melissa Beall, University of Northern Iowa 
Dr. Jack Kay, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1991 John Heineman, Lincoln High 
1993 Eric Kringle, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1994 Gerald Oswald, Loup City 
1995 Kevin Heineman, Hastings College 
1996 Debbie Velder, Nebraska Schools Activities Association 
Connie Madison, North Platte St. Pat's 
1997 Diane Finch, Arnold 
1998 Inez Brettman, Humboldt 
1999 Carol Scott, Lincoln East 
Patsy Koch, Cozad 
2000 Steve Foral - Lincoln High School
2001 Mel Shoemaker - Kearney High School & George Lawson - University of Nebraska - Kearney
2002 Sr. Rosemary Floresch, Omaha Mercy
2003 Dick Cross, Norfolk
2004 John Bitunjac, Sutton HS
2005 Shirley Huck, Bayard
2006 Fred Robertson, Fremont
2007 Laura Spatz, Burwell
2010 Jennifer Jerome, Millard West
2011 Lee Meyer, Fremont
2012 Jan Knispel, Valentine High School
2013 Skip Altig, North Platte
2014 Linda Clark, Southwest HS


John Thurber Distinguished Teacher Award

This award is given to persons who have been teaching for longer than seven years at the elementary, secondary, or university level. The honor is designed to recognize individuals who have displayed exceptional teaching ability, innovation in teaching methods, and contributions to the growth and professionalism of organizations in speech communications and/or publications. 

Past Recipients-John Thurber Distinguished Teacher Award

1972 John Thurber, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1973 Amy Price, Winnebago 
Phil Kaye, Nebraska Wesleyan 
1974 Maxine Trauemicht, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
John Bjorklund, Kearney 
1975 Louise McDonald, Lincoln Southeast 
1977 Dale E. Black, Hastings 
1978 Alice Jaswal, Nebraska Wesleyan 
1979 Arlis Patterson, Bellevue West 
1980 Linda Mead, Creighton Prep 
1981 Melissa Beall, Lincoln Southeast 
1983 Gerald Oswald, Loup City 
1984 Diane Fichthorn, Norris 
1985 Patsy Koch, Cozad 
Connie Madison, North Platte St. Pat's 
1986 Mel Shoemaker, North Loup-Scotia 
1987 Gayleen Flood, Lexington 
1988 Jack Garrison, Kearney State College 
1989 Mary Winn, Gering 
1990 Maurine Eckloff, Kearney State College 
1991 Dutch Fichthorn, Lincoln East 
1992 George Lawson, University of Nebraska-Kearney 
1993 Shirley Cawiezel, Morrill 
1994 Betty Brackhahn, Wymore 
1995 Dick Cross, Norfolk 
1996 Skip Altig, North Platte 
1997 Steve Foral, Lincoln High 
1998 Nancy Woeppel, Stanton 
1999 Matt Davis, Lincoln East 
2000 Allen Janovec, Norfolk High School
2001 Dave Hastings, Ord High School
2002 Janet Rose, Kearney
2003 Rob & Deb Whitt, Wayne State and Kathy Fowler, Wallace
2004 Robyn Baker, Millard South
2005 John Foster, Anselmo-Merna
2006 Dan Johnson, Raymond Central
2007 Peg Slusarski, Columbus Lakeview
2008 Kevin Brown, Loup County  
2009 Kelly Millington, Norris
2010 Shirley Cawiezel, Morril
2012 Matt Heimes, Lincoln Southwest High School
2013 Tommy Bender, Lincoln Southeast School
2014 Toni Heimes, Lincoln Southwest High School


Dale E. Black Outstanding Young Teacher of Speech & Theatre Award

Two awards may be given: one from the elementary/secondary and one from the college/university level. "Young" is defined as having a maximum of seven years (including the present year) of teaching experience (not including student teaching or teaching as a graduate student). The award is given for such traits as enthusiasm for work, scholarly integrity, knowledge of subject matter, innovation, ability to motivate and stimulate students, worthy goals in teaching, and professional promise including such areas as involvement in professional associations, research, and writing. Primary emphasis will be given to the individual's classroom performance. Other areas (e.g. extracurricular activities) will be given secondary consideration. 

Past Recipients-Dale E. Black Outstanding Young Teacher (High School)

1970 Sarah Boatman, Lincoln Southeast 
1971 Linda Freeman, Lincoln East 
1972 Sandi Hoffman, Beatrice 
1973 William Robart, Crete 
1974 Nan Berghel, Lincoln Pius X 
1975 Melissa Beall, Lincoln Southeast 
1977 Dan Twarling, Lincoln East 
1978 Cindy Rasmussen, Syracuse 
1979 Randy McCutcheon, Lincoln East 
1980 Mary Kassmeier, Omaha Marian 
1981 Alex Pritchard, Creighton Prep 
1983 Barb Pickering, Bellevue East 
1984 Mary Alice Moore (Konz), Leyton 
1985 Ruth Kay, Irving Junior High 
1986 John Heineman, Lincoln High 
1988 Todd Harrison, Pawnee City 
1989 Carole Carraher, Gretna 
1990 Derek Lane, Scottsbluff 
1991 Doug Frank, Leyton 
1992 Jed Friedrichsen, Millard 
1993 Gwen Whipple (Walz), Alliance 
1994 Lori Wewel, Geneva 
1995 Dan Senstock, Lincoln East 
1996 Matt Heimes, South Platte 
1997 Toni Heimes, Wauneta-Palisade 
1998 Clark Kolteman, Seward 
1999 Bob Henrichs, Hastings 
2000 Peggy Belt - Battle Creek High School
2001 Kara Rada - Mitchell High School
2002 Gailen Volquardsen, Wolbach
2003 Chris Maly, Lincoln High
2004 Russel Crouch, Ansley
2005 Diane Schiefer, Fremont
2006 Jarod Ockander, David City
2007 Candace Cain, Burwell
2008 Chris Begeman, Norfolk
2010 Taryn Retzlaff, Bridgeport
2011 Dana Christensen, Omaha Westside
2012 Jill Collura, Fremont
2013 Becky Stahr, York
2014 Tyler Thompson, Gering

Past Recipients-Dale E. Black Award (College/University)

1970 John Wanzenreid, University of Nebraska-Omaha 
1971 William Crenshaw, Chadron State College 
1972 Rich Gartrell, Doane College 
1973 Jim Hunter, Nebraska Western College 
1974 Vincent DiSalvo, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1975 William Seiler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1977 Ed Hill, Kearney State College 
1978 Jim Klumpp, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1980 Dean Curtis, Kearney State College 
1981 Jack Kay, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1984 Larry Underberg, Kearney State College 
1986 Bruce Henderson, Kearney State College 
1988 Diane Badzinski, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
1989 Akbar Javidi, Kearney State College 
1992 Kevin Heineman, Hastings College 
1996 Veronica Duncan, University of Nebraska-Lincoln